Review of Avéne Soothing Hydrating Serum

 

Pros:

Bottle with pump. Easy to apply. Feels good for my skin.

Cons:

Expensive. Not that soothing.

More:

This Eau Thermale Avène serum is a lightweight gel moisturiser for sensitive skin. The Thermal Water is said to be soothing and good for irritated and/or acne prone skin. I still need to see the scientific evidence for these claims (in beauty products). Paula’s Choice states that “There is inadequate research demonstrating that Avene’s thermal spring water is soothing for skin.” But there’s no source on the statement.

My skin is sensitive and has a tendency to get dehydrated, while still being acne prone. I have used the serum every day and night for almost a month (There’s 25% left of the 30ml bottle). I use approximately two “pumps” per time. The serum is easy to apply and is ok absorbed.

I tried to apply the serum and then a day cream, but that gets too much (too greasy/shiny). The serum alone is OK. My skin feels fine, but I do feel that my skin could need more hydration.

I’m not sure I see/feel a noticeable difference. For a product at this price, I would expect more hydration and better results.

I didn’t experience any breakouts or irritations from the serum, which is a plus.

By the way, Avène claims to be cruelty free (not tested on animals), however, they still sell in China, which requires that their products are tested on animals (More here).

 

Overall: starstarstarnostarnostar

Value for money: starstarnostarnostarnostar

Does what it promises: starstarstarnostarnostar

Tried this product yourself? Rate it below (“Rate this”). If you have any comments, feel free to add them as well (“Leave a reply”).

2 thoughts on “Review of Avéne Soothing Hydrating Serum

  1. I found it interesting about the animal testing and Avene. Last year there was an investigation which found The Body Shop products selling at airports in China. So much for “not tested in animals”. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

