Is Dermaroller Really a Miracle Maker? (Part 1)

For the past months I have been looking into the Dermaroller treatment. I have some scars and red spots on my cheeks that I would like to get rid of once and for all. I have researched for a long time on the best and least damaging treatments, and I came across the Dermaroller treatment.

My stupid scars

The scars and red spots on my cheeks has been annoying me since I got them (from a sudden, bad acne outbreak when I was around 20). Even though the scars I have are not that big and noticeable with makeup on, they’re still there. And I’m very conscious about them. Fx. I mostly have my hair down (and not so much in pony tail or bun) to cover the scars and red dots on my cheeks. I would just love if I could make them go away without any treatments that might cause scars (like laser). If this treatment lives up to its promises, it would help me minimise – or perhaps even get rid of – these scars.

Dermaroller results

Dermaroller is supposed to be good for treating acne, minimising scars, pores, sun damages (pigmentation), wrinkles and in general rejuvenating skin.

There’s both a Dermaroller home kit and a clinical treatment. Both are expensive, but if they really provide the results that they claim, I would way it’s worth it.

Here’s some of the results (before/after pics) that I found online:

Screenshot 2015-03-04 21.34.47

How does the Dermaroller work?

The Dermaroller is like a small fakir roll: It has a lot of small needles that you roll over your skin. The needles make thousands of very small wholes that cause a degradation of your skin, which then actives re-generation of new skin, that in the end result in rejuvenated skin (source). In short you “damage”/irritate your skin by making a lot of small wholes with the needles on the Dermaroller. This will stimulate your skin and make it heal and re-generate new skin: “The skin is lightly punctured creating a “perceived” injury, and the body responds by producing new skin cells to heal the surface.” (Read more about the science behind the Dermaroller here)

I’m always sceptical/critical to what I read online, and I’m a firm believer in scientific research (I have an academic background after all) and testing things out myself before I’m convinced. 

Therefore, I’m going to give the Dermaroller treatment a try and tell you guys my experience. 100% honesty.

Which type of Dermaroller should I use?

It seems that there’s a lot of different Dermarollers out there, from cheap ones on Amazon to really expensive ones. When it comes to making thousands of wholes in my skin whit small needles, I don’t want to take any chances. Therefore, I did my research before even thinking about fakir-rolling on my face: I’ve googled around, browsed 30+ websites, asked dermatologists and doctors, and stopped by a couple of treatment clinics, where they offer scar-treatments, to ask for their advice.

My conclusion is that I want to use the Dermaroller 8 with Serum 8. The majority of beauty clinics in Denmark offer the Dermaroller 8 treatment, and the company seems very professional. The skin will need a lot of hydration after the treatment and the Serum 8 seems to provide a lot of benefits, while hydrating and helping the skin to regenerate itself.

This is what you get with the Dermaroller 8 home kit:

It comes in a nice looking box that also includes a small black travel bag, so that you can take the kit with you when needed.

I’m going to try the Dermaroller Serum8 homekit and have clinical Dermaroller treatments done because some of my scars are deep and will not go away by using the homekit only. The treatment will take several months. I will use the Dermaroller Serum8 home kit several times a week and then “supply” with clinical treatment to get the best results.

 

In the next post I will describe my first encounter with the Dermaroller and post my before pictures (this will take some courage)…

 

Sources:

http://www.serum8.com/the-method.html

http://plasticsurgery.about.com/b/2010/01/26/is-micro-needling-too-good-to-be-true.htm

http://www.carolinebjerring.dk/brands/dermaroller-8

http://www.realself.com/derma-rollers-microneedling

http://www.globalcaremarket.com/us/product-wiki-faq-pages/what-is-microneedle-derma-roller-therapy-system/

http://dermarollerguide.net/

 

23 thoughts on “Is Dermaroller Really a Miracle Maker? (Part 1)

  1. I look forward to the results! I have been thinking about trying this myself, but I’m a little bit sceptical. If you get some good results, I will give it a go😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Good luck! I think you will like the results. I bought a Dermaroller on Amazon a few years ago. I did a ton of research before I bought it also. I only paid $20 bucks or so. I bought the .5mm size. I also bought some 100% Hyaluronic acid for $15 to use after my treatments. I didn’t want to spend a lot it case it didn’t work. I used it for wrinkles, and it did work. It also hurts. I have a short attention span, so I abandoned it after a month or so. I should probably go back to using it, as I’m not digging the wrinkles I have on my neck. I did see some scary ass Youtube videos of woman going to town with their dermarollers. You aren’t suppose to press super hard like a lot of the gals were doing. It was freaky. I’ll be anxious for your follow up. Good luck. I’m sorry you have acne scars kiddo, I was fortunate to never have bad skin, but I can relate as my brother had horrible acne.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the dermaroller could work for acne scars but I honestly think that this type of treatment is best left to professionals or someone who has been trained on how to perform this procedure. Because this has the potential to draw blood, there is a risk for causing cross contamination if not disinfected properly. Just something to think about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tonia, thanks for your inputs! Did you only use the home kit or did you also get clinical treatments? How is the 1.5mm compared to 0.5mm?

    Cornfedcontessa, thank you! I will make sure not to put too much pressure on it – sounds painful. The clinic that sells the dermarollers showed me how to do it, so I hope I’m safe 😉

    Stephieestie, I agree that professionals need to guide you through this. Always consult with a dermatologist. My dermatologist adviced me to use the dermaroller before my clinical treatment and in between them. This is to keep the skin “active” and get it used to this kind of treatment. I’ll make sure to disinfect and clean my dermaroller properly, promise 🙂

    Like

  5. Hey, I replied to you on my blog but I’ll comment here as well! I’ve been using a 1.5mm dermaroller on my stretch marks from pregnancy and even though it’s abit heavy duty for my face I’ve used it there as well to improve my complexion! So far I’ve seen results that I’m pleased with, I think it will take around 6 months of use before I really start seeing the results that I’m expecting but the progress seems to be slow and steady! I look forward to hearing how it works out with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve just started skin needling using a skin roller. I’m only on week 3, I do my treatment every Friday night, so the redness can settle. So far I can honestly say Ive noticed only a small difference. Skin flakes a few days prior, then repairs. But I know they say it takes approximately 3 months to see more visable results. I’m using to improve old chickenpox scars in my forehead, blemish marks from acne and to plump the overall skin tone…. Hope yours works out for you!! I love trying new things.

    Sam

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi all, just to give you a small update. I’ve been using the home kit 1-3 times a week since I posted this and I’ve gotten one professional treatment and I can definitely see a huge different. The scars are really reduced. I think I will have to get 2-3 professional treatments and using the home kit in between. I will do a post (part 2) on it soon. But I can really recommend it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve been seeing this online. This can also be used on stretchmarks based from what I’ve read. I have suffer from acne too but only Tretinoin Cream 0.025% and Super ACES vitamins did the trick. I have tried tons of products before this.

    Like

  9. Wow great article! Thanks for sharing. Your info and the info from dermarollertruth.com has gave me the confidence to start derma rolling myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

